Jennifer Furman

McCaw Elementary School

Ms. Furman-Born’s professional experience includes working as a human resource recruiter for small and large businesses and working for the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Tour International Headquarters in the Creative Service Department. While attending university, Ms. Furman-Born worked for seasonal employment with the United States Tennis Association under the Chief Photographer and for the ATP Tennis Masters Series in Cincinnati in the Marketing and Public Relations Department. Ms. Furman-Born began her educational career in the Clark County School District in 2000 as an art specialist before accepting her first administrative position. Over the next eleven years, Ms. Furman-Born served as an elementary school assistant principal. In this position, she worked to assist in the turn-around of an elementary at-risk school. In October of 2012, Ms. Furman-Born became the school principal of Gordon McCaw Elementary School, a Title I school seeing declining achievement. In 2014, Gordon McCaw Elementary School was selected as a CCSD magnet school to assist in school overcrowding and increasing school choice across the Las Vegas Valley. Since arriving at McCaw, the school has been transformed into an academically challenging environment for all learners with high expectations, goals and data driven accountability, and a collaborative family-centered culture. In February of 2018, the National Title I Distinguished Schools Program publicly recognize McCaw ES for their positive educational advances in exceptional student performance for two consecutive years. In 2019, Ms. Furman-Born was recognized by Magnet Schools of America Region VII Principal of the Year. Most recently, Ms. Furman-Born serves on the Southern Nevada STEM Network High Quality Programs Subcommittee and the McCaw School of Mines Foundation Board. Recent awards include, MSA Award of Distinction in 2020 and 2022, MSA designated Nationally Certified-Demonstration School, and Model STEM School through the Nevada Governor’s Office of Science, Innovation and Technology.