

The Effective Programs & Quality Outcomes Committee met via conference call on October 24, 2017 at 2:00PM EDT, 1:00PM CDT, 12:00PM MDT, 11:00AM MST & PDT.

ATTENDING

Committee Members

Otistene Smith (AR); Sonya Morris (FL); Ken Banter (GA); Karen Seay (ID); Dean Zajic, Cochair (KS); Gayle Pauley, Co-chair (WA)

Association Management

Bob Harmon - CEO; Jeri Erickson - Members Services Director

Meeting Agenda:

1. Distinguished Schools Update Process and Timeline

- Discussed the various barriers preventing States from naming schools and how and if other states provide funding for schools.
- · Reviewed upcoming deadline and program status:

November 30

- Identify state program coordinator
- Notify your Distinguished Schools and Association of their selection

Numbers to Date

- 30 states have named program coordinators
- 1 state declined
- 4 schools have been named (WA & MT)
- 1 conference registration sold

2. Dr. Chad Lochmiller, Indiana University Press Release, State Title I Director Participation Request

- The Association collaborated on the press release that was sent out earlier this year.
 The press release announces the first phase of the study and mentions the work of the Association.
- The participation request was sent via email from Dr. Chad Lochmiller. State Directors are asked to participate in a phone interview. There has been a good response from State Directors regarding study participation but some states have not yet responded to the request. A minimum of 30 states is needed for the first phase. Bob will follow up with States that have not responded to the request.

3. Consider recognition options under Association Reorganization

 Committee members were asked to begin thinking about how the Association may honor schools or graduates in a reorganized Association that includes all ESEA programs.

4. November EP&QO Meeting Date

• Based on committee member availability and the Association Board meeting scheduled for the same date, the November 28 committee meeting was cancelled. An email will be sent on or around November 15 should calls need to be made to states that have not named a coordinator or schools. Bob will provide talking points for the calls. Committee members volunteered to make calls if needed: Gayle Pauley (WA); Karen Seay (ID); Ken Banter (GA); Dean Zajic (KS); Otistene Smith (AR); Sonya Morris (FL).

5. Other

• Dean Zajic (KS) has accepted the EP&QO Co-chair role.

Notes from the May 23, 2017 meeting are available here.

Next meeting is scheduled for January 23, 2018 at 2:00PM EST, 1:00PM CST, 12:00PM MST, 11:00AM PST.