89 : 35
Navigating the Shift to Digital Learning: Leveraging Federal Funding Sources
Are you meeting the needs of digital age students in your school or district ? What does collaboration between Title I and digital leaders look like in your state? In this session you will learn strategies and review resources to support digital learning opportunities for your Title I students. Comprehensive planning around infrastructure, devices, and digital instructional materials is critical for successful digital learning environments. The National Education Technology Plan (NETP) challenges educators to implement technology and digital content to provide engaging learning experiences for students. Learn how digital tools, resources, and instructional materials can positively impact teaching and learning to help achieve school-wide goals and college and career readiness.
This talk was presented at:
National Title I Conference
February 2017 in Long Beach, CA
For more information:
digitallearning.setda.org; www.setda.org; cfox@setda.org
Christine Fox

Christine Fox is the Deputy Executive Director for SETDA. As Deputy Executive Director, she collaborates with the Executive Director in charting strategic direction, administration, planning and financial decisions involving SETDA. She also facilitates the members’ professional learning opportunities including planning and implementing the content for SETDA’s virtual and in-person events and newsletters. In addition, she manages many of SETDA’s research and product development projects from conception to publication. The management of such projects includes coordinating data collection from all states, supervising consultants and staff, ensuring member input and supervising the publishing process. Recent publications and projects include Navigating the Digital Shift, Digital Instructional Materials Acquisition Policies for States, OER Case Studies: Implementation in Action, The Broadband Imperative and From Data to Information. Christine Fox’s background includes experience in education and consulting. She has worked as an educational consultant and curriculum developer for a national whole school reform model, ESOL Coordinator and 3rd grade teacher. Christine has a Masters of Science in Teaching English as a Second Language from Florida International University and received her Bachelor’s degree in English Literature from Florida State University.

Gayle Pauley

The Assistant Superintendent for Special Programs and Federal Accountability is responsible for leading and assisting through both state and federal programs – including the Elementary and Secondary Education Act – school districts in raising the academic achievement of students who face the challenges of disability, poverty, second language acquisition, learning difficulty, and mobility. The office is in charge of Title I, AP Courses and multiple other areas.

Russ Sweet

Mr. Russ Sweet holds an undergraduate degree from Judson Baptist College and graduate degree from Portland State University. Mr. Sweet works as a Team Lead in federal programs at the Oregon Department of Education where he provides support for Title I-A, Title I-D, Neglected and Delinquent programs and private schools. He also has been a middle school teacher and a teacher to incarcerated youth.

Carla Wade

Carla Wade is the Digital Innovations Lead for the Oregon Department of Education. Carla is committed to providing quality education for students in an environment where they have access to tools, effective teachers and processes for learning that inspire them to develop college and career ready skills and a desire for lifelong learning. She has managed federal programs including Title I-A, Title II-A, Title IID. Carla has served on the boards of the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), the State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) and the Oregon Science Teachers Association (OSTA). She has received recognition for her work in educational technology from the George Lucas Education Foundation, ISTE and SETDA where she won the 2010 State Leader of the Year Award.